Where is Your Heart At?

As I have been planning the fall stewardship campaign, I’ve spent a lot of time reflecting on Matthew chapter 6. In Matthew 6:21, Jesus said “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

Every time I read this verse, I find myself doing a quick gut-check. If someone were to put together a list of everything I spend money on, what would it say about me and where my heart is at? I would hope that person would say that it is clear by the way I spend my money that my heart is with God. I would also hope it would show that as I have been growing in my faith journey, I have also been growing in generosity.

I know that I have a long way to go, but the season of stewardship allows me to not only reflect on how my generosity reflects my gratitude to all of the blessings God has given me, but also allows me to be intentional in my money and my time. This season allows me to trust in God and listen to how he will guide me to become more generous.

Matthew 6:24 goes on to say “No one can serve two masters. Either you will hate the one and love the other, or you will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve both God and money.”

It sure does seem like people serve money these days, doesn’t it? At work every week, small groups gather to do a 10 minute mindfulness meditation session. One week’s session centered around gratitude for the abundance we have in our life. At the end of the 10 minute session, my co-worker was in tears. “I worry so much about money that I don’t take the time to realize how blessed I am,” she said. If we spent more time with God, thanking Him for what we do have, we really would live a happier and more fulfilled life.

Matthew 6:25 says “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes?” Verses 33:34 explain “But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

This world thrives on the idea of scarcity, that there isn’t enough and we aren’t enough. Thankfully we have a God of abundance, who gives us everything we have, which is all we will ever need. He loves us unconditionally, enough that He sent his son to die for us.

So I ask you: Where is your treasure at? Where is your heart at? How will you use this year’s stewardship campaign as a way to be more intentional in reflecting your gratitude to all that God has given you?

Submitted by  Andrey Andison

Leave a comment