Thank You God, Once Again

At home recovering from knee replacement surgery, I was introduced to “Jacob,” my in-home physical therapist. He was born and raised in India and is a Christian. We have had good conversations about our faith and life experiences as he worked my new knee and old leg through the pain of recovery.

One day he came into the house walking past my car that has the bumper sticker, “Real Men Love Jesus.”  He commented that he liked the bumper sticker, and we chatted about our faith and how we witnessed our faith on the job and in our life.  I asked him if he would like one of those bumper stickers, and he assured me that he would put it on his car, even though he lived with his wife and two teenage daughters.

These bumper stickers were left over from our men’s retreat and had been posted on the bulletin board at church to give away free.  However, when I had asked a friend to retrieve one for Jacob, he could not find it.  With apologies I had to tell Jacob that I could not get one for him.

However, today at church I did find one copy of the bumper sticker, “Real Men Love Jesus,” and will mail it to Jacob.  In this instance, how God is working in my life began with my picking up Jacob’s cue that he was raised in an area of India where there are a lot of Christians, and I engaged him in a conversation about his faith.  Then there is his seeing my bumper sticker and asking about it. Then, of course, there is finding a lost bumper sticker.

God will also working be in our lives by Jacob putting that bumper sticker on his car and driving that car all over southeastern Michigan while doing his job as in-home physical therapist. That means that thousands of people will be exposed to the message, “Real Men Love Jesus,” which should spark some interesting conversations.

Thank you, God, once again.

Leave a comment